PDA

View Full Version : So I'm planning to start this open source project around VNC remote desktop

diablo75
March 9th, 2010, 01:55 AM
I'm not a programmer but a good buddy of mine is. We're kicking an idea around about coming up with a little utility that anybody can customize and use to establish reverse-VNC sessions with people who need help with their computers. It's not a new idea. There's a way to do this with UltraVNC right now, but it looks like the way you do this with that program hasn't been modified in over a decade. The utility looks dated, and the VNC protocol used seems to be incompatible with newer VNC viewers... or at least that the experience I had. But I basically want to tackle the concept and try to bring it back to life so freelance techs out there can get their own remote desktop software that's easy to customize and call their own while keeping it all open-source.

We've had no problem creating little test projects that allow the user/client who needs help with their computer establish a VNC session with someone else with nothing more than a single-click. The emphasis has always been to make things streamlined and simple for the non-tech users. With the help of DynDNS, it's a snap to do something like this. So the primary feature that this program will do is basically connect users to a pre-specified listening viewer using a DynDNS hostname the tech configures into this app before having the client download and install it on their machine.

Beyond that the only bells and whistles that might be integrated into this might be encryption... but I don't know the best way to go about doing that and might not really worry about that so much as perhaps other things first.