PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] OpenShot Help Installation

splosh5
March 8th, 2010, 09:04 PM
Hey guys i am very new to ubuntu i have only used it for 3 days now :(. anyway i came across this great program called Openshot now i downloaded the (DEB Installer) for version 9.10 witch i am running right now. Anyway when i try and rune the Package Installer it says at the top:

Error: Dependency is not satisfiable: python-mlt|python-mlt2|openshot-mlt
Any Suggestions?

Many Thanks
Splosh5

blur xc
March 8th, 2010, 09:14 PM
Hey guys i am very new to ubuntu i have only used it for 3 days now :(. anyway i came across this great program called Openshot now i downloaded the (DEB Installer) for version 9.10 witch i am running right now. Anyway when i try and rune the Package Installer it says at the top:

Any Suggestions?

Many Thanks
Splosh5

If you are running 9.10 you should add their ppa (personal package archive) and install it from the software center, or synaptic, or the command line, whichever you prefer.

here are command line instructions- http://www.openshotvideo.com/2008/04/ppa-instructions.html

This way it will grab and install the dependencies automatically.

As a little FYI (in case you don't know, you did say you have been using Ubuntu for only 3 days)- the preferred method for installing software in Linux is to use the repositories. Repositories are like the apple app store. Just with a less pretty storefront (apple has "pretty" dialed). You can add extra repositories in your software sources. If you install software from the repos you get the latest versions, and you get automatic updates when new versions come out.

BM

splosh5
March 8th, 2010, 09:40 PM
If you are running 9.10 you should add their ppa (personal package archive) and install it from the software center, or synaptic, or the command line, whichever you prefer.

here are command line instructions- http://www.openshotvideo.com/2008/04/ppa-instructions.html