PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] To quiet a dog

Eredeath
March 7th, 2010, 09:46 PM
So my dog barks obsessively when I leave her alone. I've been looking for ways to quiet her down without hurting her (e.g. bark collar) or spending too much money (humane bark collars are pricey). I've come across some products that make a loud sound or something when the dog barks as a way of negative reinforcement.

I want to make one of these.

I have little programming experience (all of it in windows and in the console). But what I would like to do is make a program that will take in a sound via the microphone, measure it, if the sound is loud enough (e.g. her barking) enough play a predetermined sound file.

It's really simple but I'm in need of a jumping off point. Recommendations on which language to use and (the hardest part that I can foresee) how to take input from the microphone and measure it.

Any guidance will be much appreciated.

And just for fun if anyone wants to see Kelly (my dog) you can visit my youtube channel. (http://www.youtube.com/eredeath)

dollarmenunaire
March 7th, 2010, 10:02 PM
Which languages are you comfortable with in Windows?

I would recommend Perl for this. Perl is an interpreted language, so its more scripting however some would argue that. It is similar to C it its syntax.

Take a look through http://www.cpan.org/ and see what modules for audio you can find.

Eredeath
March 7th, 2010, 10:57 PM
Which languages are you comfortable with in Windows?

I would recommend Perl for this. Perl is an interpreted language, so its more scripting however some would argue that. It is similar to C it its syntax.

I've worked with both C++ and Java.

Eredeath
March 8th, 2010, 12:43 AM