PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Linux/7 wat happened?

whitedemon
March 7th, 2010, 08:51 AM
Can some one help me with this prob..

I earlier had windows 7 on a primary partition and installed xubuntu using "use large space available"

It worked and installed fine until i had my partition size manually expanded. That is i resized the partition size of the primary one to smaller size and simply played with it.

Unfortunately I found tat xubuntu is workin without any problems, but win 7 would not load, said some "bootmgr error, try to repair with windows cd."

Then with no other option left I had to reinstall the entire windows 7 and linux.. While partitioning (win 7) i gave 40g to win7 and 20g allocated to linux and 15g for t rest. But t last 2 partitions were "primary" durin the installation of win7. After installin 7, i tried to install linux, but it wud now not show the option "use largest available space". N i'm feared to go with the manual partitionin in linux as i'm a beginner in this. I also don't want to keep reinstallin windows again n again.

Kindly help

Phylax
March 7th, 2010, 03:06 PM
First of all, have no fear. Actually partitioning manually during installation of ubuntu is a piece of cake as long as you know what a partition is and which file systems to use (I still recommend ext3 for Linux). Just make sure to set the mount point of the Linux System partition to "/", the installer won't let you proceed anyway unless you do so.

Unfortunately I doubt this will prevent the problem you have with Win7 not booting anymore. I only installed ubuntu on machine with Win7 once, and I had to repair the latter with the Windows CD. But this really wasn't any of a problem. The Win7 CD did the job. As far as I remember you just put it in as if you wanted to reinstall it and it will offer an "restore boot sectors" option of some kind...

consider this tutorial:
http://lifehacker.com/251733/vista-tip--repair-bootmgr-is-missing-error

best regards from Bavaria

Phylax