PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wireless interface missing

davinamarie
March 7th, 2010, 12:07 AM
Hi there, I bought my fiance a dell laptop. It used to work on our wifi but now it doesn't. When I look at the Network Settings there is only "Wired connection" and "Point to point connection".

I have looked through lots of help subjects and it seems the wireless interface is missing? I really don't know how this has happened, I've tried for hours to try and get it to work but to be honest it's just like a foreign language... I have never used this kind of OS before.

Please can someone help?

avguy
March 7th, 2010, 12:17 AM
well, if it is a adapter, i know your problem. I just solved it myself. What you have to do is get the package ndisgtk. It can be obtained through synapatic. If not, got to packages.ubuntu.org. or whatever the packages site for ubuntu is. Anyway, if you get it off the site, you need to get ndiswrapper commons and 1.9. Then use archive manager to install these stuff. It should install something called Wireless Drivers, or something like that. It can be found under systems-administration. Then get your adapter installer disk and google the files you need to install for it to recognize, find, and use your adapter.

davinamarie
March 7th, 2010, 12:34 AM
Sounds great! Wish I understood what you were telling me lol. Any chance you could go through that step by step?

bkratz
March 7th, 2010, 12:44 AM
Ndiswrapper should not be necessary with Dell laptop because they usually relabel Broadcom devices. If you go to the terminal ( applications>>Accessories>>Terminal)
and enter:

lspci | grep Wireless

(that is LSPCI in lowercase, W is uppercase)

What does it say?

davinamarie
March 7th, 2010, 12:54 AM
It doesn't say anything!

This is what it says:

ashley@ashley:~$ lspci | grep Wireless
ashley@ashley:~$

It doesnt do anything....?

bkratz
March 7th, 2010, 12:55 AM
It doesn't say anything!

This is what it says:

ashley@ashley:~$ lspci | grep Wireless