PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Upgrade from 8.04 to 8.10 slowed to a crawl

ThePiper
March 5th, 2010, 06:39 PM
I am relatively new to Ubuntu.
I started the upgrade from 8.04 to 8.10 last night. By this morning it had downloaded all the files and was configuring things. I answered the question about retaining my smb.conf file. The Updater told me that there were approximately 4 minutes remaining to completion. I then went off to do things and came back an hour later. The updater told me it was updating smb.conf and would be finished in 4 minutes.

I wanted to lock the screen and the lock screen, log off, switch user form took a few minutes to open.

I left it to go to work, came back this evening 10 hours later and it had progressed to the point where it is now installing a new smsd.conf file. It still tells me that it will take about 4 minutes.
I do not want to kill the process, but I would like the process to come to an end soon.
Please help. Thanx in advance.

R

jerrrys
March 6th, 2010, 03:08 AM
upgrade to 8.10? thats a downgrade in my book. get yourself a copy of 9.10...

ThePiper
March 6th, 2010, 03:26 AM
I think you may be right, but a new install means all the configuration work I have done is gone. All the added apps - gone. But now, after 36 hours and I am still sitting with the problem, I am beginning to think along those lines. :)

Sef
March 6th, 2010, 04:36 AM
If you prefer an LTS, you could either install 9.10 and upgrade to 10.04 (Lucid Lynx), which will be the next LTS after Hardy, or if you want to run the alpha version of Lucid. It is not for production machines, but it is very stable so far.

ThePiper
March 6th, 2010, 04:52 AM
Thanx for the suggestion.