PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Jdk 6_18

ganeshmagal
March 4th, 2010, 05:36 AM
Hi,
I am new to Linux.
I am trying to setup Java JDK6_18 on my ubuntu machine. I downloaded the .bin (jdk-6u18-linux-i586.bin) file from the SUN site. I gave permission using 'chmod 777' and installed it using './<filename>.bin' and it did install and created a new folder in the same location as the '.bin' file.
However when I try to do 'java -version' from terminal I can't find it, may be because I have not updated it in the PATH. But the problem is what should I give the path in the path variable.
I tried using the apt command and installed JDK but it is not the latest version.
Thanking you in advance
Ganesh

Sef
March 4th, 2010, 06:32 AM
1) Do you have a 32 or 64 bit os?

2) It is much easier to download java through Ubuntu Software Center. Applications > Ubuntu Software Center > Search > two choices to type in

a) OpenJDK (a must if you have AMD64-bit)

b) Sun java

Either one will work and just click install.

ganeshmagal
March 4th, 2010, 06:37 AM
I have a 32 bit OS. I did try installing it via the Ubuntu Software Center however it doesnt have the latest release of JDK.

BenAshton24
March 4th, 2010, 06:43 AM
You have probably just missed a step somewhere; have a look at the installation instructions: http://www.java.com/en/download/help/linux_install.xml

If you followed them then it should have installed to /usr/java/.

ganeshmagal
March 4th, 2010, 06:52 AM
I did try those steps...but aren't they for browser plugin? I am trying to install JDK. Please correct me if I am wrong.
Thanks

wojox
March 4th, 2010, 07:00 AM
Sun_Java_6 is in the repo's:

sudo apt-get install sun-java6-jdk

BenAshton24
March 4th, 2010, 07:17 AM
Oh, sorry, you're right of course I didn't read your question properly :S

For JDK these are the instructions that you want: http://java.sun.com/javase/6/webnotes/install/jdk/install-linux-self-extracting.html