PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Newbie Ubuntu Cloud Questions

Volomike2
March 4th, 2010, 02:48 AM
I'm new to this whole Ubuntu Private Cloud thing as discussed here:

http://www.ubuntu.com/cloud/private-steps

It's called UEC.

Here are my newbie questions. Realize I'm not really a hardware guy. I sort of know bits and pieces of hardware. My focus has mostly been on LAMP Development. I'm trying to work with a project manager and some hardware guys and all of us are trying to get a grasp on the UEC.

1. Can a VM span multiple nodes?

2. If a website scales beyond 100% CPU on a node, does it automatically spill over to another node and start using processing power there?

3. Do I have to rewrite the code of my web app (such as WordPress) so that it works in a private cloud?

4. Does KVM support virtual memory such that when I run out of RAM it uses paging?

5. How is UEC any different than me bringing up several servers with several VMs inside, and then moving VMs around as I need? Is it really a cloud where the VMs exist in a cloud, not necessarily a node?

6. If I power off a node while it's hot, how can I assure myself that the data will be okay?

7. Do I want to use SCSI attached RAID, or NAS, or NFS? We're simply trying to host thousands of blogs and LAMP sites in a way that we can handle spike loads.

8. Do I attach the disk volumes to the cluster controller and then run a command such that the nodes can mount those virtual volumes?

9. Do I need to run another command on the VMs to mount volumes that the nodes can see?

10. What is the role of the storage controller and how is it separate from the cluster controller?

11. How many systems, minimum, do we need to get this tested out?

12. For testing purposes, can I install UEC on an Intel P4 server and then a node on Intel P3 server -- even with some limitations?