PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] I Need a good C++ IDE

cmommsen
March 4th, 2010, 12:07 AM
Anyone know of a good C++ IDE that I can use to write and compile basic programs on my laptop running Ubuntu Karmic? I've tried pretty much all the ones in the Ubuntu Software Center and while I really like a few of them, I havn't been able to get a single program to compile and run. (actually, I've got one IDE to work good but it's Bloodshed's DevC++ for windows, and I have to run it through Wine, and I don't like it.)

I'm just starting to learn C++, mostly on windows using basic funtions like IOSTREAM, so I don't know much about programming on linux.... but I can still use the same libraries like the standard library, right??? Or is it a simple matter of installing the appropriate libraries? :-k

gumpish
March 4th, 2010, 12:29 AM
If you're just starting (as in, "Hello, world!") my advice would be to use a plain text editor and invoke the compiler and linker manually from the command line just to get an appreciation for what the IDE does.

For more complex code, I personally enjoy using the Eclipse C++ package.

cmommsen
March 4th, 2010, 01:41 AM
ok, so what is the command for compiling a file, say helloWorld.cpp? Does Ubuntu come with a built in compiler? Oh, and when I write the source file, I need it to be saved as .cpp so I can attach it to an email and turn it in (I'm taking a C++ class...) So what is the software I need to make that happen?

dwhitney67
March 4th, 2010, 01:41 AM
You do not need an IDE. Just use a gnome-terminal, and from within it, run 'vi'. If you don't know 'vi', then use gedit.

From the command line, you can compile your works of art using a command similar to the following:

g++ HelloWorld.cpp -o HelloWorld

Then to run the app:

./HelloWorld

cmommsen
March 4th, 2010, 02:02 AM