PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] raid1 partition advice

wadehw
March 3rd, 2010, 06:20 PM
hi everyone,

After reading many good reviews about using MSI wind PC/ubuntu nas, I rushed to order the barebone. I will using ubuntu server 9.10.

I order two 1 TB WD hds, my plan is to...

1st WD HD: partition the sda into sda0(100G), sda1(~900G, raid) and sda2(4G, swap)
2nd WD HD: partition the sdb into sdb0(~1TB, raid )and sdb1(4G, swap)

I will install the ubuntu os into sda0 and use sda2 as its swap, and configure a raid 1 using sda1 and sdb0. Since sdb0 is ~100G bigger than sda1, I heard that I will lose the ~100G HD, I am OK with it..

Will this work? I am new to ubuntu, any comment is welcome.

-Wade

darkod
March 3rd, 2010, 07:32 PM
First, the numbering of partitions is starting from 1, not 0.

Any particular reason you want the root partition outside the raid1 array?

Why not:

sda1 - 250MB /boot, sda2 - ~1TB, sda3 - 4GB swap
sdb1 - 250MB /boot, sda2 - ~1TB, sdb3 - 4GB swap

Create software raid1 from sda1 and sdb1, not motherboard fakeraid, and use the 250MB raid1 device for /boot partition. Create software raid1 from sda2 and sdb2 into 1TB raid device.

Then, use the 1TB raid1 device as physical volume for LVM. This will allow you to create any kind of setup you want in the LVM and resize partitions dynamically.

This is just a general idea, I'm not too experienced in this. So any further comments are welcome of course. :)

whoop
March 3rd, 2010, 07:37 PM
I have a nas running with software raid 1:

3 raid1 array's:
md0: 15 GB for /
md1: all that is left for /home
md2: 4 GB for swap

So the partitioning for the drives is:
sda1 and sdb1 raid partitions to be used for /
sda2 and sdb2 raid partitions to be used for /home
sda3 and sdb3 raid partitions to be used for swap

As a precaution, it looks like software raid is pretty messed up in Lucid currently, can't seem to get it installed (with any configuration, even separate /boot raid array).