PDA

View Full Version : Incredible Learning Resource: MIT opencourse

Khufucius
March 3rd, 2010, 04:43 PM
A few days ago, I stumbled onto the MIT "opencourse" website. I've been working on the basics of Comp. Science/Python for a little while now, and I wish I'd found the MIT site sooner.

http://ocw.mit.edu/OcwWeb/Electrical-Engineering-and-Computer-Science/index.htm

That link should take you to the Electrical Engineering and Comp. Science section.

This site is a place where MIT have "open-sourced" about 2000 of their classes -- this includes video of all the lectures, downloadable PDFs of assignments and class notes, exams and solutions, etc. Everything. It's freakin' unbelievable (I'm nowhere near smart enough to get into MIT, so this is a way for me to fulfill that dream without those pesky entrance requirements).

They've got an interesting selection of Computer Science classes to choose from. I'm a newb, so I'm going through the "Intro to Computer Science" (600.1) class right now The class uses Python to introduce programming basics. It moves quickly, but I'm learning much faster than I did from only reading books and writing code tidbits.

I figured this could be helpful to quite a few people looking to start out, so I've posted it here. It's really worth checking out.

Hooray for free knowledge,

-K

PS - In case it's not obvious: you don't get college credit for downloading and studying this material, it doesn't make you an MIT grad, etc etc etc. The site says about as much. Oh, and I'm in no way affiliated with MIT or this "open course" thing (though I wish I was!)

bunburya
March 3rd, 2010, 04:48 PM
Thanks for this! TBH I had heard of it before but didn't know it would teach in Python which is what I'm looking for as well.

Rany Albeg
March 3rd, 2010, 09:51 PM
Thank you very much!

SNYP40A1
March 3rd, 2010, 11:13 PM