PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] please help me fast with GRUB!

Durduman
March 2nd, 2010, 08:10 PM
Hello all! Noob here. I have this problem: after installing ubuntu 9.10 on external HDD I cannot boot vista if external usb is unplugged(where ubuntu is installed). it says grub loading and after that recover grub ( i think that is what is says ... not certain in this moment ) anyway hope you get my dilemma. If you need more information I'll be glad to provide it. Thank you in advance!

darkod
March 2nd, 2010, 08:24 PM
Plug the ext, boot into ubuntu and in terminal run:

sudo fdisk -l

Post the results. The fix is easy, just show us the partitions as reported by fdisk.

Durduman
March 2nd, 2010, 09:51 PM
isk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x8e538e53

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 5992 48128000 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2 5992 38914 264440832 7 HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sdb: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x5b6ac646

/dev/sdb1 1 37784 303499948+ 83 Linux
/dev/sdb2 37785 38913 9068692+ 5 Extended
/dev/sdb5 37785 38913 9068661 82 Linux swap / Solaris

presence1960
March 2nd, 2010, 10:15 PM
isk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x8e538e53

/dev/sda1 * 1 5992 48128000 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2 5992 38914 264440832 7 HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sdb: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x5b6ac646

Boot with the external plugged in. boot into Ubuntu @ the GRUB menu. Open a terminal when the desktop loads and run
sudo dpkg-reconfigure grub-pcHit enter at each window until the last where you will choose sdb. Use your arrow keys to navigate to sdb and the space bar to select sdb.

Now to fix the MBR of the internal disk. Run in terminal
sudo apt-get install liloThen in terminal run
sudo lilo -M /dev/sda mbr