PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] resize SWAP? needed?

UbuNoob001
March 1st, 2010, 12:50 AM
So I have Ubuntu 9.10, also I have a 2.16Ghz Dual Core Pentium. With 3GB of RAM. I will be using SAGEMATH for some math work, and i surf the internet, and I want to work with Python(eventually taking a class). I dont do gaming.

Ubuntu Install created only 1.6GB SWAP. If i want to resize this without reinstalling Ubuntu, and without loosing any files, how could i? Total beginner here.

Do you guys think this is important? Or can i just create a "swapfile" down the line if i use too much SWAP? (not sure how swapfile works but ive heard some people do it, rather than its own partition)

raymondh
March 1st, 2010, 01:57 AM
So I have Ubuntu 9.10, also I have a 2.16Ghz Dual Core Pentium. With 3GB of RAM. I will be using SAGEMATH for some math work, and i surf the internet, and I want to work with Python(eventually taking a class). I dont do gaming.

Ubuntu Install created only 1.6GB SWAP. If i want to resize this without reinstalling Ubuntu, and without loosing any files, how could i? Total beginner here.

Do you guys think this is important? Or can i just create a "swapfile" down the line if i use too much SWAP? (not sure how swapfile works but ive heard some people do it, rather than its own partition)

You can resize swap and the process is the same as resizing a partition. You have to/can do it from a liveCD using the gparted program in live session. In live session and in gparted, right click on the swap partition and select swapoff. From thenon, you can get space from the neighboring partition and add it to the existing swap. Note: better get space from an 'empty' (non-colored) area of the partition .... you'll see what I mean when you open gparted.

Is swap important? With your current usage, have you detected swap being used? If not, then I don't think keeping swap at existing level will be a 'deal-breaker'. It all depends on your usage and hibernating/suspend habits.