PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] My Laptop shuts off on the boot screen.

NT2015
March 1st, 2010, 12:36 AM
OK I have tried several ways of doing this and all have the same result. I have tried booting Ubuntu off of a USB flash drive, nothing. Tried installing from a flash drive, nothing. Tried booting from the CD, nothing. Tried installing from the CD, nothing. What happens is i get the boot menu, not Grub the one where it asks "try ubuntu with no changes to your computer" or to "install" weather i pick try or install i get to the white flashing ubuntu logo and it sits there for about 30seconds and then my laptop shuts off. This happens every time. And i know the disk is good, its the same disk i used to install it on my desktop.

Trying to install Version 9.10 Karmic x64

Please help. I wouldn't call my self a complete noob, but I am still fairly new to using Linux.

Specs:
Acer Aspire 5920 (not the one with the nVidia card) :(
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8GHz
RAM: 3GB
GFX: Mobile Intel 965 Express

darkod
March 1st, 2010, 12:38 AM
At the main menu, hit F4 and select Safe Graphics. Then select Try Ubuntu.
Can it load the live desktop like that?

NT2015
March 1st, 2010, 01:05 AM
Sorry, actually i forgot to mention, I did try that as well. And it didnt work. ](*,)

NT2015
March 1st, 2010, 01:14 AM
UPDATE

I just tried the 32-bit version, just to see if it would work. I still have the same problem. I am currently running Memtest to see if maybe there is a problem with my ram, even though i currently run Windows 7 fantas.....well about as good as Windows can run.;)

RJARRRPCGP
March 1st, 2010, 01:36 AM
it sits there for about 30seconds and then my laptop shuts off.