PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Broken LVM array and I need the data off 2 disks

themac
February 28th, 2010, 10:59 PM
Hi
I am new to ‘fiddling’ with Ubuntu (and definately no IT expert) having previously had a FC5 server setup to use Samba services to store photos and camcorder files. My problem is that a friend set up my FC5 system and all I had to do was set up the file shares in Samba.

My machine had an 80GB HDD which contianed the base FC5 installation, with 2 nr 320GB HDD’s for photos and videos. The problem occurred when I decided to upgrade to Ubuntu server and being a novice I never realised that I would not be able to read the data from my two 320GB drives as they have previously been setup in an LVM. I thought that like windows disks I would be able to just plug them back in to a Linux system and ‘away we go’, sadly not to be.

I have searched the forum for help on my subject and found a couple of useful threads (http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-642329.html) but none that has successfully helped me to recover the data on them. I am confident that the data is till there, it's just that I can't get at it.

In my previous system I had have found out that I had one logical volume group - VolGroup00, with 3 physical volumes - PV0(80GB), PV1(320GB0, and PV2(320GB), and three Logical Volumes, - LogVol00, LogVol01, and LogVol03.

The new Ubuntu server is currently installed on the old PV0 and the problem is that I do not know how to link the two 320GB disks up to the new Ubuntu server to view and backup the data.

When I use the pvscan –u PV3 is listed as an ‘unknown device’ and the UUId for PV0 is now not correct for the LVM as I have reformatted this drive as part of the Ubuntu setup.

sudo dd if=/dev/sda2 bs=512 count=255 skip=1 of=/temp.txt yields the following text
status = ["RESIZEABLE", "READ", "WRITE"]
extent_size = 65536
max_lv = 0
max_pv = 0
physical_volumes {
pv0 {
id = "fufRff-6ldT-MB6t-FbrK-bAmF-0FtW-1CEEmB"
device = "/dev/sda2"