PDA

View Full Version : College degree on no college degree

LinuxFanBoi
February 28th, 2010, 04:52 PM
Weigh in..

clanky
February 28th, 2010, 05:31 PM
I haven't voted as my opinion doesn't fit the poll.

I think a degree is a huge benefit, if you can get one then go for it, but it is not a must, it is possible to get through life and do very well without a degree.

Personally I have a masters in mechanical and process engineering, but there are people who do my job just as well without a degree.

cap10Ibraim
February 28th, 2010, 05:52 PM
If you want that degree then it's a must , otherwise skip it

Queue29
February 28th, 2010, 07:49 PM
It depends on what you want to do...

Zoot7
February 28th, 2010, 08:22 PM
It really depends on the area you want to go into.

I'm almost finished my degree in Electrical and Electronic engineering, and in this particular field a degree is indeed a must, but for some other field it might not be so. What is it that you want to do?

phrostbyte
February 28th, 2010, 09:06 PM
For being a plumber? No.
For being a engineer? Yes.
For being a lawyer? Yes.
For being a doctor? Yes.

PS: There is no shame in being a plumber. Many of them make more money then you'd believe.

blueshiftoverwatch
February 28th, 2010, 09:15 PM
PS: There is no shame in being a plumber. Many of them make more money then you'd believe.
Especially if you own your own business, don't hire any employees, and work locally. Once you have all of the equipment bought it's relatively high profit coupled with low overhead. At least compared to other business ventures.

steev182
February 28th, 2010, 09:16 PM
It's not necessary to have one in IT, I'm living proof of this, but it sure as hell makes things a lot harder when trying to break into it/progress.

If I could go back to when I was 16, I would've stayed on, done A Levels, gone to Uni and I'd be a step higher than I am now.