PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Post-Installation Problems

Sinuse
February 28th, 2010, 04:00 AM
So, I ordered the Ubuntu 9.10 Desktop Edition in the mail. I got it, and tried to install it side-by-side with Windows XP. There wasn't enough space, so I decided to erase everything on a hard drive that I barely ever used and install it on there. When that was finished, I restarted my computer...And instead of giving me an option to dual-boot, it just went straight to Windows. I can't access the hard drive anymore. I'm new to Linux, so I just don't know what to do at this point to be able to use Ubuntu :redface: I put the disc back in and tried to re-install it, but it just freezes up. Help much appreciated!

presence1960
February 28th, 2010, 04:14 AM
Let's get a better look at your setup & boot process. Boot the Ubuntu Live CD/USB. Choose "try ubuntu without any changes", when the desktop loads come back here and do the following:

1. Download the boot info script. There is a link in my signature.
2. Once downloaded move the boot info script to the desktop.
3. Open a terminal and run the command
sudo bash ~/Desktop/boot_info_script*.sh

This will create a RESULTS.txt file on the desktop. Paste the entire contents of that file back here. Once pasted highlight all text and click the # sign on the toolbar to place code tags around the text.

See here (http://bootinfoscript.sourceforge.net/) for more info on the boot info script.

Above link is to meierfra's Sourceforge web page.

Sinuse
February 28th, 2010, 05:17 AM
Let's get a better look at your setup & boot process. Boot the Ubuntu Live CD/USB. Choose "try ubuntu without any changes", when the desktop loads come back here and do the following:

1. Download the boot info script. There is a link in my signature.
2. Once downloaded move the boot info script to the desktop.
3. Open a terminal and run the command