PDA

View Full Version : Demand for Computer Engineers

LinuxFanBoi
February 28th, 2010, 02:54 AM
I'm majoring in Computer Engineering, and I want to fully understand how my skills will be applied in the real world once I graduate with a bachelors degree.

How will I apply my skills to the real world? I don't want to get into a field of study that's never really leaves academia. I'm looking for a career that will have practical applications in the real world.

What are the day to day duties and responsibilities of someone with the skills I'm studying for? what demands are placed on them by their employers? These are the kinds of things I need to know at this point. Is this a career that demands a Masters to remain competitive or is that something I can set as a more long term goal rather than just staying in school until I have a graduate degree?

nobodysbusiness
February 28th, 2010, 03:08 AM
In University, I took computer science, but I now have the job title "software engineer", so I'll offer my thoughts. I suppose that my work life is divided into three things: meetings, designing and coding (thankfully not with an equal amount of time spent on each of those). Meetings are all about talking to other people who know the business and trying to puzzle out what you're actually supposed to be doing. Designing often involves writing a lot of design documents, so having good written communication is valuable. And then there's the coding itself, obviously.

You don't need a masters to stay competitive in the field, but you do need to keep constantly learning and improving your skills. I found this link to be of value:
http://steve-yegge.blogspot.com/2008/03/get-that-job-at-google.html

In time, you will probably have most of a masters degree worth of knowledge, even without the piece of paper. Just don't stop learning.