PDA

View Full Version : help customizing minimal install with openbox

Mykle87
February 27th, 2010, 10:36 PM
I have been using Ubuntu Desktop on my laptop for a couple of years now and absolutely love it. I also use Ubuntu Server on my server box and am learning so much about the command-line. For my laptop, I am starting to think that as great as Ubuntu is, it comes with a lot of stuff I don't need. What I would like to do is start with a minimal command-line only install and add Openbox to it because I really like the way Openbox looks and feels. What I am afraid of is not being able to do routine things on it such as connect to a wireless network with the click of a button. I know I have to install gnome-network-manager or wicd if I want to do that but I just want to make sure that this setup is still functional. What packages do you recommend I add? I think I would like to have the system menu from Gnome but maybe I don't need it? I would prefer to not have a login manager. What do you guys think? Have any of you done this? Thanks.

Tibuda
February 27th, 2010, 10:49 PM
If you want something more out-of-the-openbox, I'd recommend you to try Crunchbang (http://crunchbanglinux.org/), which is an Ubuntu derivative that uses Openbox. They have two flavors: Standard with more apps and Lite with only basic functionality. If this is not what you want, go the Minibuntu route (http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/minimal).

This guide covers almost everything you need to know about Openbox:
http://urukrama.wordpress.com/openbox-guide/

I know I have to install gnome-network-manager or wicd if I want to do that but I just want to make sure that this setup is still functional.
If you choose wicd, install the wicd package and add wicd-client & to your ~/.config/openbox/autostart.sh file. I recommend also to add a systray to that file, so you can see wicd/nm icon. urukrama guide covers it.