PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] PLZ help, looking for answer for days to black screen

DMP Killaz
February 27th, 2010, 07:39 PM
Hello, I'm new to Ubuntu, and Linux in gerneral. A few days ago my older brother showed me ubuntu he had it running along side windows 7. I was interested in it especially cause it's free so I wanted to try ubuntu. Well it's been a few days now and I'm about to give up, I've tried some of the solutions here on the forums and would like to try others but I'm new and dont' understand how to go about doing so. I have a 3.2gh P4 2gb ram, and an ATI radeon HIS HD 3850 AGP version. I've seen some fourums on here talking about people having the same problem I'm having due to this video card. I installed Ubuntu 9.10 from within Windows didn't work, uninstalled it, even thought the option to boot it at startup still appears. Then tried running it straight off of the disc my bro burned (says it's the 32-bit version) Still the same problem. Ubuntu will boot up show the logo in the center of the screen then come up with a black screen and a mouse pointer, I am able to move the pointer but that's it. People show some solutions but I'm completely lost on how to do them, any and all Help is greatly appreciated, Thank you.

darkod
February 27th, 2010, 07:58 PM
Boot with the ubuntu cd again, and when the menu shows up press F4 for advanced options. Select Safe Graphics, and again Try Ubuntu if you have to.
See if it will load the live desktop running from the cd when safe graphics is selected. If it does, you can also try to install clicking the Install icon on the desktop while in safe graphics.
If you have problems after the install again with the graphics, a driver can be added in recovery mode so it's not too bad.

gadolinio
February 27th, 2010, 08:01 PM