PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] No administrative privilages and I'm the only/first user

sharpie27
February 27th, 2010, 04:31 AM
I'm new to this Linux/Ubuntu thing and trying to become a convert. I installed Ubuntu on my laptop and desktop over last weekend, and I have my laptop up and running well. However, my desktop won't allow me to do anything that involves adding packages, installing updates, installing Firefox extensions, etc, etc. I am the only user on the computer and the first user (and should thus have root privalages according to everything I've read). When I attempt to do any of these tasks, I enter my password and then I get the following message:

E: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'sudo dpkg --configure -a' to correct the problem.
E: _cache->open() failed, please report.

I've tried to do the "sudo dpkg --config -a" command in the terminal, but I have no idea what to do after that point. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

spiderbatdad
February 27th, 2010, 04:41 AM
try this command:

sudo rm /var/lock/*

captain_171
February 27th, 2010, 04:41 AM
What are you trying to install? and reply with the command line and the error please.
The issue sounds as you are not a Sudoer user to see if you are i would try to run gedit as root using the command sudo gedit it will ask you for your password and then open gedit if it gives you a error saying "is not in the sudoers file. This incident will be reported" then your user is not a sudoer and that is why you are having issues.

To see if your user is a sudoer user type this command
groups
if you are a sudoer you will be in the admin group if not then you will have to switch users to one that is.

kerry_s
February 27th, 2010, 04:43 AM
just means the package manager messed up at some point. since it's still a fresh install just install again.

spiderbatdad
February 27th, 2010, 04:45 AM