PDA

View Full Version : Lost warranty/support because of installing Linux based OS

nukleuzN
February 25th, 2010, 02:55 PM
Hi,

I have a question.

In connection with that I will upgrade the hardware on my computer, I contacted the manufacturer (Fujitsu Siemens) for information on what type of components etc I would order.

Out in the conversation I was informed that if I switched to Ubuntu (which I have), or any other software one that was installed on the computer (Windows Vista) when I bought it, I would lose both the support and guarantee - regardless of whether it was hardware or software support / warranty.

Therefore I ask here. Can this be correct? Is there any PC manufacturers that do not have such rules and regulations, or do this applies to them all.

It's really sad for Linux distros, because it is not a good "selling point" (Yes, I know that Linux is largely free).

BrandonBan6
February 25th, 2010, 02:59 PM
It does not sound correct, but I am no lawyer! Was there a small print agreement you signed when purchasing the hardware?

Worst case scenario, you could use dd or clonezilla, take an image snapshot of your ubuntu install. Re-install vista from either the restore partition (providing you didn't wipe that when installing linux) or the restore cd. Get your support, and then dump your ubuntu image back on! :D

whiskeylover
February 25th, 2010, 03:08 PM
So that means if you install anything on your computer (even an IM client, since it didn't originally come with the computer) you lose your warranty? That can't be right.

Call them up and tell them you're recording the phone call (even if you aren't) and ask them to repeat the voiding warranty part.

dabl
February 25th, 2010, 03:10 PM
Therefore I ask here. Can this be correct?

Of course it can -- it is their warranty. Who will force them to support a "mystery configuration" that they did not install? And of course, many manufacturers will use any excuse to avoid repairing the hardware, too.