PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [ask]install from source??

fourteenth
February 25th, 2010, 06:53 AM
hi all.
I'm new to Linux and ubuntu here..
I was wondering how can I install a program or software form source tarball?
I used to install by apt-get and synaptic.
so, what are the differences?

If I install from source tarball?
will my installed program or software listed in synaptic?
thanks..

booshire
February 25th, 2010, 07:23 AM
hi all.
I'm new to Linux and ubuntu here..
I was wondering how can I install a program or software form source tarball?
I used to install by apt-get and synaptic.
so, what are the differences?

If I install from source tarball?
will my installed program or software listed in synaptic?
thanks..

So...tar ball is usually source code. Also, usually includes a README or howto file after you extract it. Maybe not, oh well. It will not work like a .deb or whatever from a repository. You usually untar the thing (tar -xvf [filename.tar], it will make a directory wherever you are at with the files in it (check the man page to see how to extract it elsewhere [man tar]). Usually executing the command (inside the directory) 'make install' (or just 'make') will compile the thing, outputting (errors and) everything. A program name or more info needed if this does not work. Welcome to Linux/Unix, where you have to read instructions and not just double click all the time.

fourteenth
February 25th, 2010, 08:01 AM