PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Can't connect to Windows 7 through ssh

bkadoctaj
February 25th, 2010, 12:56 AM
Hi everyone,

I've recently installed openssh-client in Ubuntu (9.10 Karmic 64-bit) and I have been trying to set up a connection to my Windows 7 desktop. Currently, both computers are on the same local area network, but I want to ensure this connection will work over the Internet as well. Regardless, when I use the following command:

ssh -C <remote ip> -l <user>

I get the following output after about a minute or two:

ssh: connect to host <remote ip> port 22: Connection timed out

<remote ip> and <user> are substituted here for their actual values. I've turned off the firewall in Windows and I believe I have correctly forwarded the ssh service port through my router, and I am at a loss for what could be wrong. I'm pretty new to Linux so please go easy on me. :-| Thanks.

EDIT: The <remote ip> I'm using is the one for my router since that's the one that appears on various Internet "what is my IP?" sites.

Baneblade
February 25th, 2010, 01:03 AM
Windows does not support SSH.
There are solutions such as Cygin which will allow you to run Linux apps, but it is a pain to configure and in my last experience with it buggy at best.

That was sometime ago, so perhaps you will have more luck now. Personally i just use RDP to connect to Windows machines now. You could also use something like VNC which can be tunneled over SSH if you do decide to setup Cygwin.

bkadoctaj
February 25th, 2010, 01:23 AM
Windows does not support SSH.
There are solutions such as Cygin which will allow you to run Linux apps, but it is a pain to configure and in my last experience with it buggy at best.

That was sometime ago, so perhaps you will have more luck now. Personally i just use RDP to connect to Windows machines now. You could also use something like VNC which can be tunneled over SSH if you do decide to setup Cygwin.