PDA

View Full Version : Linux Core Help

Jvaldezjr
February 24th, 2010, 04:19 PM
I am not a new linux user, I've been using Kubuntu since 2006 and currently have 8.04 installed. I am wondering if there are some resources for me to learn the core things regarding configuring linux. Basically I want to learn how to set up networking, print/filesharing, etc without having to rely on a specific GUI. The reason is I'm experimenting with other Ubuntu based distributions, and default boot is to a command shell. I used to write code using linux, so I think I'm probably an intermediate user, I know how to install applications from source, I've rebuilt kernels before, but not too fond of it. I just want to improve my command-line, or what I call Core Linux Skills so that no matter what distro I use, I can be able to get a system configured and ready for normal desktop use.

Is there one place or a few places that I can look and find what I need?

Thanks.

bruno9779
February 24th, 2010, 04:24 PM
I find myself in needs and skills similar to yours.

I have planned to set up arch on a test machine for months, and learn as I go. I haven't had time for that yet, but setting a goal and learning the skills needed to get there, works better for me than a bunch of tutorials

Jvaldezjr
February 24th, 2010, 07:36 PM
I know there is a lot of web stuff out there, I'm hoping someone with superior linux knowledge can point in the right direction.

wojox
February 24th, 2010, 07:42 PM
Arch is nice for learning system configs.
LinuxFromScratch (http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/) is another that has helped me.

Jvaldezjr
February 24th, 2010, 08:28 PM
are there books or websites that are better to check out than others? Any of the orielly ones that anyone can reccomend that are better than others?

wojox
February 25th, 2010, 01:46 AM
Linux in a nutshell O'rielly.

Jvaldezjr
February 25th, 2010, 02:12 PM
I have that one, thanks!

Eisenwinter
February 25th, 2010, 02:24 PM