PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu_studio] panning in ardour

extendedping
February 24th, 2010, 12:47 AM
Hi I am new to recording (working on my first song in ardour) and have a quick question. when you pan a track you pull the slider say to the right...isn't that supposed to make the track more prominent on that side? I am recording a mono guitar track and pulling the slider to the right. but the playback in my headphones (and through speakers once it is turned to a wav file) plays back on the left speaker. hmmm...

Stochastic
February 24th, 2010, 02:29 AM
You may have something wired backwards (left connected to right) either in your software or hardware routing. Check your entire audio chain. Also, does this occur in other programs with panning ability on your machine?

extendedping
February 24th, 2010, 04:42 AM
still looking for an app I can test panning in. my signal is guitar -- cable -- vox tone lab -- out left mono -- into firepod first port -- out to computer via firewire -- into ardour via first input (mono) and to master bus.

Stochastic
February 24th, 2010, 09:48 AM
If you're modifying a mono signal with pan, then be sure that you troubleshoot the output chain, not the input chain.

Look at patchage or qjack-ctl's connections and your physical output connections.

Try modifying the panning in Ardour or Rezound - you may need to export your ardour recording to a wav file to do this, or re-record some mono guitar into the new app.

extendedping
February 24th, 2010, 03:52 PM