PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Gdk+ or Qt3/4

madmax.santana
February 23rd, 2010, 11:23 PM
Well. if someone has been keeping tabs on me, he might know that I have been very much into programming GUI applications in Ubuntu / Linux...

As it seems, I have so far learned at least how to approach an objective while designing applications! I am not a pro, but my knowledge and experience has increased considerably as to that on last weekend. I have been in on Gtk+ and recently the Glade!

But suddenly it struck me, as someone pointed out in some other thread I had posted to ask for help in an entirely different matter, that maybe starting with gtk+ is just a waste of time. If I am going to build an application which runs on most of the Linux distributions, I might watch my step... As maybe, the application written in gtk+ are not compatible with Kde, Xfce or other desktop environments!!! I need to confirm that!!!

Are gtk+ applications portable to other desktop environments?

Well, if no, it is very sad! I have a very impatient personality! I shall definitely lose hope in gtk+ since it will no longer charm me! But I shall be on to the other envoirnment that you people might suggest!

Somewhere, someone named Qt3... Well, is that the answer??? Are Qt3 applications portable to other desktops beside KDE???

Please give your opinions!

nerdy_kid
February 23rd, 2010, 11:30 PM
i dont know who told you that, but he was wrong :)
gtk runs no problem on other DEs besides GNOME. (I use KDE4.4)
In my (somewhat limited) experience, most Linux DEs use GTK+. The only one that doesnt, as far as i know, is KDE, which as you know, uses QT. I am not a programmer, but looking at the interface differences, QT would be the way to go IMHO. It seems to be more powerful, as far as embedding apps, widget support and theming control. It is also easy (so ive heard) to port to Windows. I think it really depends on what you are going to use it for.

madmax.santana
February 23rd, 2010, 11:49 PM