PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't get Ubuntu to boot

ImTheBatman
February 23rd, 2010, 08:07 PM
Hi, I recently downloaded Ubuntu 9.1 and burned it to a CD. However, I can't seem to get it to boot. I got to the main menu and selected to run it directly from CD, and the Ubuntu symbol showed up saying it was loading things, but then the screen went black and nothing happened even if I waited over 15 minutes. During this time the HDD light was flashing every second or two, and I could see about three white pixels at the top most row of the screen. Does anybody know what is causing this problem and\or how to solve it? I am kind of new to this business.

darkod
February 23rd, 2010, 08:15 PM
It might be graphics driver related. At the main menu, hit F4 for advanced options, select Safe Graphics. Not sure if it goes back to the main menu to select Try Ubuntu again. Anyway, safe graphics should work, check it out.

ImTheBatman
February 23rd, 2010, 08:23 PM
It might be graphics driver related. At the main menu, hit F4 for advanced options, select Safe Graphics. Not sure if it goes back to the main menu to select Try Ubuntu again. Anyway, safe graphics should work, check it out.EDIT: I see what you mean. Anyway, now I got to a command prompt like screen, but I can barely read what it says because it keeps flashing.

nanohead
February 23rd, 2010, 08:43 PM
Weird, I'm getting exactly the same thing. Tons of "buffer I/O errors" and then black screen.

Never had a problem installing Ubuntu before. Have 9.04 running great, but figured I'd try 9.10. So far, not too impressed. Taint working....

Its the exact machine that runs 9.04 perfectly, just put in another hard disk. 9.10 is a dud so far

:confused:

I've swapped Optical drives, cables, CPUs, hard disks, etc, and still nada

darkod
February 23rd, 2010, 08:45 PM
You are burning the CDs at low speed right? And when I say low, because todays CDs are about 56x, I mean no more than 8x. Even better 4x.