PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Network install: Cannot pass pxelinux.0 to the client machine (bootptab - how?)

Zalanthas
February 21st, 2010, 07:59 PM
Hi,

This is my first post here. I must say, moving from Windows to Ubuntu was like emerging from dark ages into renaissance... I feel like I can tell something to Ubuntu and it will understand me :). Well, two weeks has passed and I know my way around Desktop Edition. Now, I would like to get my hands on Server Edition, but I could not succeed properly installing one into my home server. If anyone can help me out with my problems, I will be very glad.

Here it goes (but please keep in my that I have no prior experience with Linux) =>

For the last several days I am trying to install Hardy Server LTS 32-bit Edition to IBM Netfinity 4000r server.

I tried to install from "several" different live-cds (checked m5sum and did everything for all of them) and none of them booted (the server has cd-rom and I can get into the bios to boot from it, but when it tries to boot, it does not recognize the boot sector). I tried 64-bit, and somehow it boots and shows me the install screen. But, since my server is not 64-bit, it says it cannot continue. Gives me i686 suggestion. I tried other i686 specific linux distros and none of them worked either.

I even tried to boot with live GpartedCD, but it failed as well.

So, my last resort is installing via network boot (my bios does not support usb boot eventhough there are 2 usb ports at the back).

I have Ubuntu 9.10 running from persistent USB stick at my Laptop and will use it as host server for the install.

Last two days I spent countless hours trying to figure out the related help files and documentation with no end result. I learned tons of new stuff, but since I am a newbie to Linux and Ubuntu, I could not understand the seemingly basic stuff.

I am in dire need. Please help me :). Here is what I have done =>

Main help files I used are these =>