PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] software update problem

moejoe125
February 21st, 2010, 05:35 PM
Hi Guys, Im a total newbie to Linux. Would appreciate it if someone could help.

I installed Karmic 9.10 on my machine yesterday, it was working fine then.
Powered up this morning, and straight after the GUI loaded, it prompted me for some software updates, it looked it there were hundreds of them...

So it went through the motions, updating various things...then at about 60% of the way through, it asked me to restart so that installation can continue...

when it rebooted, it displayed the following:

udevadm trigger is not permitted while udev is unconfigured.
udevadm settle is not permitted while udev is unconfigured.
svgalib: Cannot open /dev/mem.
Gave up waiting for root device. Common Problem:
- Boot args (cat /proc/cmdline)
- Check rootdelay= (did the system wait long enough?)
-Check root= (did the system wait for the right device?)
-Missing modules (cat /proc/modules; ls /dev)
ALERT! /dev/disk/by-uuid/9e0ce62f-accf-4a81-9c72-3801bdf5ad2c does not exist. Dropping to shell!

it then goes to the BusyBox v1.13.3 built-in shell
(initramfs)_

My guess it that maybe its something to do with not having the right drivers or something for the graphics card...i duno...

Any help or tips would be much appreciated!

northrup
February 21st, 2010, 06:25 PM
That's weird that it would ask for a restart in the middle of an update. Normally, it'll wait until the end, at least in my experience. That might be a problem in itself...

moejoe125
February 21st, 2010, 08:55 PM
Does anyone have any ideas how I might be able to fix this?

Ideally, I'd much rather to fix the problem rather than just re-installing as I want to learn how to solve/fix these kind of issues...

northrup
February 22nd, 2010, 04:48 AM