PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't connect WUSB300N with WPA2

cjsegninir
February 21st, 2010, 05:15 PM
Hello everyone,

This is my first post in the community, because it is my first approach to Linux. As you can imagine I have thousands of problems, but right now I'd be happy if I can get the wifi working. I have tried many things I've read in this and other forums, but there came a a point where everything was out of my Linux understanding.

First of all, my wireless adapter is a Linksys WUSB300N. As per my research, there is no Linux driver for it, so I installed the windows one with ndiswrapper (after many many tears!). Initially it works, since I can see the available networks and so on. The problem is that everytime I restart, it is not available so I have to repeat some of the ndiswrapper steps. Most likely, I'm doing something wrong (Did I tell you I'm a total noob?) or I need a simple script, but I don't know how to do it.

The second problem is that my home network has a WPA2 security protocol. I know I could just change it for WEP, but geek vein doesn't allow me to. I was reading some threads on how to connect to WPA2, but sincerely, I could not understand them.

Summarizing, if I'm not going too far, I'm asking you to explain step by step (Like you will teach your little 5 years old son) how to solve both problems.

Thanks a lot!!!
Best regards,
C.S.

PS: Please take in account I don't have internet access in the Linux PC without the Wifi. Therefore, I cannot download anything from the repos. I have to come to the windows Laptop, download it, and then take it to the PC. Thanks again!

northd_tech
February 21st, 2010, 05:44 PM
Hello everyone,