PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem connecting to wired internet in ubuntu 9.10



subhashishdolai
February 21st, 2010, 07:25 AM
I have a problem connecting to the internet using Ubuntu 9.10 .
But the same works fine in Ubuntu 9.04.. First I thought it was my hardware problem and asked my friend(also was using ubuntu 9.04) to try ubuntu 9.10 but he too failed to connect....:confused:

I have an wired ADSL Modem given by my Service Provider.
When I switch on my modem the router gets connected but it cannot connect me to internet...
Please help me out of this problem.
Thanks in advance:)

coffeeaddict22
February 21st, 2010, 10:16 AM
Hi,
Can you post back the output of the following commands in a terminal (Applications/Accessories/Terminal):

nm-tool
lshw
ifconfig

It might help to localise the problem.

subhashishdolai
February 21st, 2010, 04:26 PM
abir@abir-desktop:~$ nm-tool


NetworkManager Tool

State: disconnected

- Device: eth0 -----------------------------------------------------------------
Type: Wired
Driver: forcedeth
State: disconnected
Default: no
HW Address: 00:18:F3:8A:37:3A

Capabilities:
Carrier Detect: yes
Speed: 100 Mb/s

Wired Properties
Carrier: on


abir@abir-desktop:~$ lshw
WARNING: you should run this program as super-user.
abir-desktop
description: Computer
width: 32 bits
*-core
description: Motherboard
physical id: 0
*-memory:0
description: System memory
physical id: 3
size: 2013MiB
*-cpu
product: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4000+
vendor: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]
physical id: a
bus info: cpu@0
version: 15.11.1
size: 2100MHz
capacity: 2100MHz
width: 64 bits
capabilities: fpu fpu_exception wp vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp x86-64 3dnowext 3dnow extd_apicid pni cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy 3dnowprefetch cpufreq
*-cache:0
description: L1 cache
physical id: 0
size: 128KiB
*-cache:1
description: L2 cache
physical id: 1
size: 512KiB
*-memory:1 UNCLAIMED
description: RAM memory
product: MCP61 Memory Controller
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:00:00.0
version: a1
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz (15.2ns)
capabilities: bus_master cap_list
configuration: latency=0
*-isa
description: ISA bridge
product: MCP61 LPC Bridge
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 1
bus info: pci@0000:00:01.0
version: a2
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: isa bus_master
configuration: latency=0
*-serial
description: SMBus
product: MCP61 SMBus
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 1.1
bus info: pci@0000:00:01.1
version: a2
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: cap_list
configuration: driver=nForce2_smbus latency=0
resources: irq:10 ioport:dc00(size=64) ioport:600(size=64) ioport:700(size=64)
*-memory:2 UNCLAIMED
description: RAM memory
product: MCP61 Memory Controller
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 1.2
bus info: pci@0000:00:01.2
version: a2
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz (15.2ns)
configuration: latency=0
*-processor UNCLAIMED
description: Co-processor
product: MCP61 SMU
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 1.3
bus info: pci@0000:00:01.3
version: a2
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: bus_master
configuration: latency=0 maxlatency=1 mingnt=3
resources: memory:fec80000-fecfffff
*-usb:0
description: USB Controller
product: MCP61 USB Controller
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 2
bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
version: a2
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=ohci_hcd latency=0 maxlatency=1 mingnt=3
resources: irq:20 memory:dbfff000-dbffffff
*-usb:1
description: USB Controller
product: MCP61 USB Controller
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 2.1
bus info: pci@0000:00:02.1
version: a2
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=ehci_hcd latency=0 maxlatency=1 mingnt=3
resources: irq:21 memory:dbffec00-dbffecff
*-pci:0
description: PCI bridge
product: MCP61 PCI bridge
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 4
bus info: pci@0000:00:04.0
version: a1
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: pci bus_master cap_list
*-multimedia
description: Audio device
product: MCP61 High Definition Audio
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: 5
bus info: pci@0000:00:05.0
version: a2
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=HDA Intel latency=0 maxlatency=5 mingnt=2
resources: irq:22 memory:dbff8000-dbffbfff
*-ide:0
description: IDE interface
product: MCP61 IDE


abir@abir-desktop:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:18:f3:8a:37:3a
inet6 addr: fe80::218:f3ff:fe8a:373a/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:21 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:13 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1335 (1.3 KB) TX bytes:940 (940.0 B)
Interrupt:27 Base address:0x2000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:42 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:42 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:15593 (15.5 KB) TX bytes:15593 (15.5 KB)

virbr0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 2e:07:fc:fa:b2:4a
inet addr:192.168.122.1 Bcast:192.168.122.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:25 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:3966 (3.9 KB)

x33a
February 21st, 2010, 04:29 PM
Try

sudo pppoeconf

subhashishdolai
February 21st, 2010, 05:23 PM
I have entered the command pppoeconf




──────────────┤ ALL DEVICES FOUND? ├──────────────────┐
│ │
│ I found 3 ethernet devices: │
│ eth0 │
│ pan0 │
│ virbr0 │
│ │
│ Are all your ethernet interfaces listed above? │
│ (If No, modconf will be started so you can load the │
│ card drivers manually). │
│ │
│ │

yes

│ <Yes> <No>



yes

┌─────────────────────────┤ OKAY TO MODIFY ├─────────────────────────┐
│ │
│ If you continue with this program, the configuration file │
│ /etc/ppp/peers/dsl-provider will be modified. Please make sure │
│ that you have a backup copy before saying Yes. │
│ │
│ Continue with configuration? │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ <Yes> <No> │
│ │
└───────────────────────────────────────────────── ───────────────────┘



┌────────────────────────┤ POPULAR OPTIONS ├─────────────────────────┐
│ │
│ Most people using popular dialup providers prefer the options │
│ 'noauth' and 'defaultroute' in their configuration and remove │
│ the 'nodetach' option. Should I check your configuration file │
│ and change these settings where neccessary? │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ <Yes> <No> │
│ │






┌────────────────────┤ ENTER USERNAME ├────────────────────┐
│ Please enter the username which you usually need for │
│ the PPP login to your provider in the input box below. │
│ If you wish to see the help screen, delete the │
│ username and press OK. │
│ │
│ username__________________________________________ ______ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ <Ok> │
│ │
└───────────────────────────────────────────────── ─────────┘




┌─────────────────────┤ USE PEER DNS ├─────────────────────┐
│ │
│ You need at least one DNS IP address to resolve the │
│ normal host names. Normally your provider sends you │
│ addresses of useable servers when the connection is │
│ established. Would you like to add these addresses │
│ automatically to the list of nameservers in your local │
│ /etc/resolv.conf file? (recommended) │
│ │
│ │ ─────────────────────┤ LIMITED MSS PROBLEM ├───────────────────────┐
│ │
│ Many providers have routers that do not support TCP packets with │
│ a MSS higher than 1460. Usually, outgoing packets have this MSS │
│ when they go through one real Ethernet link with the default MTU │
│ size (1500). Unfortunately, if you are forwarding packets from │
│ other hosts (i.e. doing masquerading) the MSS may be increased │
│ depending on the packet size and the route to the client hosts, │
│ so your client machines won't be able to connect to some sites. │
│ There is a solution: the maximum MSS can be limited by pppoe. │
│ You can find more details about this issue in the pppoe │
│ documentation. │
│ │
│ Should pppoe clamp MSS at 1452 bytes? │
│ │
│ If unsure, say yes. │
│ │
│ (If you still get problems described above, try setting to 1412 │
│ │
│ <Yes> <No> │
│ │
└───────────────────────────────────────────────── ───────────────────┘


│ │
│ │
│ <Yes> <No> ┌─────────────────────────┤ DONE ├─────────────────────────┐
│ │
│ Your PPPD is configured now. Would you like to start │
│ the connection at boot time? │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ <Yes> <No> │
│ │
└───────────────────────────────────────────────── ──────── ┌────────────────┤ ESTABLISH A CONNECTION ├────────────────┐
│ │
│ Now, you can make a DSL connection with "pon │
│ dsl-provider" and terminate it with "poff". Would you │
│ like to start the connection now? │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ │
│ <Yes> <No> │
│ │
└───────────────────────────────────────────────── ─────────┘



┌─────────────────┤ CONNECTION INITIATED ├─────────────────┐
│ │
│ The DSL connection has been triggered. You can use the │
│ "plog" command to see the status or "ifconfig ppp0" │
│ for general interface info. │
│ │
│ │
│ <Ok> │
│ │
└───────────────────────────────────────────────── ─────────┘


─┘


────────────────────────────────────────────────── ──────────────┘




Now what to do??
There is still no internet connection...

northd_tech
February 21st, 2010, 05:24 PM
I actually didn't find anything ethernet/network card-specific in that lshw output. Can you post the output of these terminal commands:


lspci

lsmod

sudo lshw -C network

This part makes it look like you are seeing a tiny bit of ethernet traffic (but that might just be talking to the network switch:


ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:18:f3:8a:37:3a
inet6 addr: fe80::218:f3ff:fe8a:373a/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:21 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:13 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1335 (1.3 KB) TX bytes:940 (940.0 B)
Interrupt:27 Base address:0x2000

x33a
February 22nd, 2010, 03:53 AM
I have entered the command pppoeconf

....

Now what to do??
There is still no internet connection...

Did you enter everything correctly (the default, yes is sufficient most of the times), but you do have to enter your broadband account info correctly.

for connecting

sudo pon dsl-provider

for disconnecting

sudo poff

Villiam
February 22nd, 2010, 03:59 AM
As it looks like it was working before on ubuntu 9.04, and was a wired connection. Previously did you need to install drivers in 9.04? Do you have another NIC available or you swaped it? Are your core network settings are properly configured, ie. dhcp, dns, gateway, firewall etc. Connection is lit up and powered, packets transmitting etc.

Try this: $ dmesg | grep eth
$ ifconfig -a

northd_tech
February 22nd, 2010, 04:40 AM
abir@abir-desktop:~$ nm-tool
NetworkManager Tool

State: disconnected

- Device: eth0 -----------------------------------------------------------------
Type: Wired
Driver: forcedeth
State: disconnected
Default: no
HW Address: 00:18:F3:8A:37:3A

Capabilities:
Carrier Detect: yes
Speed: 100 Mb/s

Wired Properties
Carrier: on

Actually I missed that "forcedeth" driver before in the nm-tool command- that looks like the same one that my NVIVIA nForce ethernet uses in my HP DV98xx laptop running Jaunty 9.04 ubuntu. That has actually worked "out of the box" with every version of Linux (dozens) that I have tried for about 2 years now.

Have you checked with a different internet cable? I've seen many of those RJ45 ends/connections get messed up.

I'm still not seeing what type (or if) you have any wireless stuff that might be interfering.

Unfortunately, I'm stuck in Vi$ta for a while hosting some file transfers (much better speed still than ubuntu WiFi for whatever reasons). If I get a chance, I'll dig out a cable and see what my "forcedeth" nForce settings show when I've got an active ethernet link running under ubuntu.

northd_tech
February 22nd, 2010, 09:12 AM
OK- I'm currently running off an ethernet cable under ubuntu Jaunty 9.04 with that working nForce ethernet. lspci reports it as:

00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP67 Ethernet (rev a2)

This is portion of the output that looks related to internet or "forcedeth" from lsmod:
Module Size Used by
ipt_MASQUERADE 11520 1
iptable_nat 14724 1
nf_nat 30100 2 ipt_MASQUERADE,iptable_nat
nf_conntrack_ipv4 24216 4 iptable_nat,nf_nat
nf_defrag_ipv4 10496 1 nf_conntrack_ipv4
xt_state 10624 1
nf_conntrack 84752 5 ipt_MASQUERADE,iptable_nat,nf_nat,nf_conntrack_ipv 4,xt_state
ipt_REJECT 11776 2
xt_tcpudp 11776 4
iptable_filter 11392 1
ip_tables 28304 2 iptable_nat,iptable_filter
x_tables 31624 6 ipt_MASQUERADE,iptable_nat,xt_state,ipt_REJECT,xt_ tcpudp,ip_tables

forcedeth 68368 0

Here is the interesting part from ifconfig -a
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:6c:3b:53:81
inet addr:192.xx.xx.xx Bcast:192.xx.xx.xx Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:11972 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:9857 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:9822288 (9.8 MB) TX bytes:1553625 (1.5 MB)
Interrupt:252 Base address:0xa000

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:01:00:10:20:b4
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2122 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:11644
TX packets:1920 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1689198 (1.6 MB) TX bytes:313646 (313.6 KB)
Interrupt:19

eth0 is my nForce "forcedeth" interface, and eth1 is a wireless Broadcom 4321 series (that works quite well, but I'm cabled in right now).

Hopefully this might help you compare to what a working version looks like.

@subhashishdolai (http://ubuntuforums.org/member.php?u=1022427):

Maybe you should post the results of this terminal command:


lsmod | grep ip

lsmod | grep force
P.S. I have disabled IPv6 for speed reasons, so you won't see the ipv6 lines (but they used to be there).

edit: Also, I am using wicd instead of [Gnome] Network Manager and nm-tool gives this:


The program 'nm-tool' is currently not installed. You can install it by typing:
sudo apt-get install network-manager
bash: nm-tool: command not found
I prefer to keep wicd though.

northd_tech
February 22nd, 2010, 09:33 AM
Whoops- I forgot one:


sudo lshw -C network
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: MCP67 Ethernet
vendor: nVidia Corporation
physical id: a
bus info: pci@0000:00:0a.0
logical name: eth0
version: a2
serial: 00:04:4c:2b:22:71
capacity: 100MB/s
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: pm msi ht bus_master cap_list ethernet physical mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=forcedeth driverversion=0.61 latency=0 link=no maxlatency=20 mingnt=1 module=forcedeth multicast=yes port=MII
*-network
description: Wireless interface
product: BCM4328 802.11a/b/g/n
vendor: Broadcom Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
logical name: eth1
version: 03
serial: 00:16:00:43:b4:03
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=wl0 driverversion=5.10.91.9 ip=192.xx.xx.xx latency=0 module=wl multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11abgn
*-network:0
description: Ethernet interface
physical id: 1
logical name: virbr0
serial: b2:e2:b2:b2:b2:22
capabilities: ethernet physical
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=bridge driverversion=2.3 firmware=N/A ip=192.xx.xx.xx link=yes multicast=yes
*-network:1 DISABLED
description: Ethernet interface
physical id: 2
logical name: pan0
serial: 11:24:d0:03:f1:18
capabilities: ethernet physical
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=bridge driverversion=2.3 firmware=N/A link=yes multicast=yes

subhashishdolai
February 22nd, 2010, 03:44 PM
I have entered pon dsl-provider

abir@abir-desktop:~$ pon dsl-provider
Error: only members of the 'dip' group can use this command.

what is this 'members' of the 'dip'???

Please note::I can connect to the internet in Windows Xp and also ubuntu 9.04....

subhashishdolai
February 22nd, 2010, 04:36 PM
How will I get wicd??
Will wicd work for me??

subhashishdolai
February 22nd, 2010, 04:42 PM
As it looks like it was working before on ubuntu 9.04, and was a wired connection. Previously did you need to install drivers in 9.04? Do you have another NIC available or you swaped it? Are your core network settings are properly configured, ie. dhcp, dns, gateway, firewall etc. Connection is lit up and powered, packets transmitting etc.

Try this: $ dmesg | grep eth
$ ifconfig -a

No I didn't used any driver. I have no other NIC available..
Yes everything is up and I even get response from ping..

chili555
February 22nd, 2010, 05:37 PM
I don't mean to hijack or step on toes, but I saw this:
sudo lshw -C network
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: MCP67 Ethernet
vendor: nVidia Corporation
--- snip ---
driver=forcedeth driverversion=0.61 latency=0 link=no maxlatency=20 mingnt=1 module=forcedeth multicast=yes port=MIIAnd I saw this: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=130438

And especially this:
I have a DHCP server running for the home LAN here, and as of kernel release 2.6.29 there were some changes to the forcedeth driver code, which powered down the NIC during reboots/power off. It caused havoc for many, because the NIC did not power up at next boot. I couldn't get an IP address without repeatedly restarting the network a bunch of times, and never got an IP during boot, it just hung.

The driver regression was reverted in 2.6.29.3 or .4 but still the default behavior seemed to be to remain powered off.

What I posted above is from my 'forcedeth' file in /etc/modprobe.d folder.
Notice the option "phy_power_down" option! It makes the NIC stay powered up during reboots etc.. Voila! Now it works perfect again, getting its IP from DHCP in a blink of an eye during boot.

You can use either the 'modinfo' command, or look at the bottom of the forcedeth.c sourcecode, for all the parameters you can pass to the driver.
I wonder if the link comes up, you get an IP address and connect if you try:
sudo rmmod -f forcedeth
sudo modprobe forcedeth phy_power_down=0It may take a .conf file and a reboot, if it doesn't work right away. Perhaps creating a file: /etc/modprobe.d/forcedeth.conf with the following:
alias eth0 forcedeth
options forcedeth phy_power_down=0

x33a
February 22nd, 2010, 06:21 PM
Afaik, wicd doesn't support pppoe.

http://wicd.sourceforge.net/moinmoin/FAQ

northd_tech
February 22nd, 2010, 07:03 PM
Hi chili.


http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=130438

And especially this: Quote:
I have a DHCP server running for the home LAN here, and as of kernel release 2.6.29 there were some changes to the forcedeth driver code, which powered down the NIC during reboots/power off. It caused havoc for many, because the NIC did not power up at next boot. I couldn't get an IP address without repeatedly restarting the network a bunch of times, and never got an IP during boot, it just hung.

The driver regression was reverted in 2.6.29.3 or .4 but still the default behavior seemed to be to remain powered off.

I think the page break caused a little confusion above. I have a working NVIDIA nForce ethernet connection in my HP DV98xx laptop that uses that same "forcedeth" module that I noticed above. I was posting from my working ethernet connection so that we had a working configuration of that to compare to. I think you read that part of my lshw output that was from my working ethernet connection.

On the kernel thing- I'm running an older Jaunty 9.04 2.6.28-18-generic and -17 and -14 kernel(s) , and I've never even had so much as a hiccough using a cable connection with any (of dozens) of Linux versions that I've tried on this HP laptop.

It's good to have a heads-up about a possible "forcedeth" pitfall though (as well as yet more confirmation why I stayed with the older ubuntu ;) ).

Thanks,

NDT

chili555
February 22nd, 2010, 07:12 PM
Gotcha. Sorry I misread.