PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] What If I Want To Start A New Project For A Software

madmax.santana
February 21st, 2010, 02:14 AM
Say I have something in mind which Ubuntu doesn't have yet, and I want to develope it. I am not much of a programmer, but I know C++ quite a bit. I have recently had a tutorial on using GTK+ and interfacing with Glade. But just that much, I am not a pro or something.

I don't have buddies around me who are programmers... I shall definitely need help of some programmer pals!

Where do I find people who are expert programmers and interested in programming software for Ubuntu, who will join me and we shall make a little team and work on that thing!!! (Nothing in return except the sense of satisfaction and name in Credits dialogue of the program:))

Is there a special place to find such people? And will they appreciate the idea? What do I do?

There is something that I want to do, desperately, a software which Ubuntu doesn't have yet. Well there are many in that category but not that good! I think that program will be quite an advance in Ubuntu experience! But see, the problem is, no matter how desperately I want to programme it, I can't do it alone, not with this limited knowledge and experience. It could take ages before I can have a beta release ready!

I see credits of software like VLC and there are lots of people in there. Maybe they were all friends who lived close to each other, maybe worked at the same place, maybe were all professional programmers! I dunno! But I don't have such resources, so I need people, maybe in some other continent, but people who can help me in achieving that software of my dream!

I think I have said enough! Maybe many readers still don't understand my point but I have tried my best. If there is a specific place where I can find such people, please let me know! Or if "this" is the place, please tell me what do I have to do to (except howling at moon:)) to call out programmers to join me!

Tibuda