PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] SH: Grub> at boot when installed through XP

ChadSH
February 20th, 2010, 05:56 AM
Hi, I am extremely new at using linux OSs, I have only booted to a live CD a couple of times, and don't know the first linux command. I just recieved my CompTia A+ Certifiation, and I'm Taking My Net+ exam Monday morning. I have extensive experience with all Windows OSs. Here is my problem: I installed a new HD in an old HP machine that has a 650MHz processor, and 448 MB of Ram. The HD is a WD 160G Caviar Blue 7200rpm. I formated the drive NTFS with WD datalifegaurd tools, then partitioned it into two halves; 74.5 G each I believe. The plan was to install Windows XP, and then Install Ubuntu next to it (on same partition), so that I could use the second partition for storage. I successfully installed Xp SP3 with all critical/recommended updates, defragged the drive, and then tried to install Ubuntu 9.10 from the Live CD - Has been MD5 verified, and CD checked. When I tried to install it by booting the cd, I got an error permission denied. I then tried to boot into XP, and do the install from the CD as it opened up in Windows. Still got the permission denied error at or towards the end of the install. I then dsownloaded the wubi installer, let it download a new iso and run overnight. as far as I know, this was successful, because I now have the Option to boot from 1 - Windows, 2 - Ubuntu. Here is where I am very confused, and stuck. When I try to boot into Ubuntu, I get this: SH: Grub> or something very very close to that at boot. I have no clue what to do at this point, so I have to control alt delete, and the go back into Windows. Any help would be greatly appreciated. This PC is for my 11 year old son, and he wants ubuntu, and I am very interested in learning the commands myself. Just don't have time to play with it much now because of school, and studying for my certs. Does anyone know what I need to do, so that it will just boot into the Ubuntu GUI