PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Boot Problem : Urgent Help Needs !!!!!!!!! :(

kiran88pnjr
February 19th, 2010, 02:26 PM
Hai............

I need urgent help.............:(:(:(:(:(:(

I'm currently using Ubuntu 9.10. It was working perfectly till yesterday befo4 shutting down. 2day morning when I booted into Ubuntu it stops in the phase shown in the picture below.

http://cdn.cbsi.com.au/story_media/339299234/ubuntu-910-karmic-koala_1.jpg

It showed a message :

" One or more of the mounts listed in /etc/fstab cannot yet be mounted :

/home :waiting for UUID = 16db8ad1-281d-422b-959c-3e8382bf1fdc

Press ESC to enter recovery shell "

I pressed 'ESC' and entered into recovery shell. I don't know what to do within that. Don't know any commands to recover my OS.

I have shutdown my computer normally. I don't know what happened. If anyone knows please help me to recover my OS.

Pabloincarnate
February 19th, 2010, 03:02 PM
I'm a noob to ubuntu and I had that problem once and all i did was boot from my ubuntu cd and that fixed it.

kiran88pnjr
February 19th, 2010, 03:03 PM
I'm a noob to ubuntu and I had that problem once and all i did was boot from my ubuntu cd and that fixed it.

How do u fixed that ?

amsterdamharu
February 19th, 2010, 03:43 PM
Some problem with your harddisk or at least the home partition.

In the command shell can you check the following:

ls -l /dev/disk/byuuid/16db8ad1(press tab here to finish the command)
more /etc/fstab

If you cannot mount your home folder than you might not be able to log into gnome even if you fix the boot problem.
To fix your boot problem you can not let it mount your homefolder and use testdisk to check and repair that partition.

To install testdisk:

sudo apt-get install testdisk

To not mount your homefolder (if testdisk cannot repair your home partition).

sudo nano /etc/fstab