PDA

View Full Version : Can two mice = two cursors?

cyberb0b
March 7th, 2006, 08:17 PM
I have two eyes.

I have two hands.

I have two USB mice.

I have two mission-critical applications running, firefox and klickety.

Can I have two cursors on one screen so I can truely multitask?

Just a thought.

Bandit
March 7th, 2006, 08:19 PM
Damn good question... I have never tried it before..
If it works like a touchpad and mouse on the same machine. Both will just control on single mouse courser..
Cheers,
Joey

lolocaust
March 7th, 2006, 08:43 PM
I've tried a ps/2 mouse and a usb mouse in windows; both controlled the same cursor, and if Bandit's correct about the trackpad & mouse, I guess it would be the same with two mice in ubuntu.

red_Marvin
March 7th, 2006, 08:48 PM
Since, to my knowledge, almost any api existent today can only have one widget
focused at a time, so two cursors would just inactivate each other's active windows.

stuporglue
March 7th, 2006, 08:49 PM
My guess is that if you could get them to show up as two different devices, you could do it.

From the xorg.conf:

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
EndSection

If one mouse showed up as /dev/input/mice and the other as /dev/input/mice2, you might be able to add a new "Section InputDevice2" to xorg.conf and have it work.

If you can't get two separate devices in the first place, I don't think there's a chance.

aysiu
March 7th, 2006, 08:49 PM
I have two mice, and they control the same cursor.

I don't see how having two separate mouse cursors would help you multi-task. If anything, it would make things more confusing.

For me the advantage of having two mice is using the left hand or right hand as suits my fancy (I'm not really ambidextrous, but I am when it comes to computer mice).

Bragador
March 7th, 2006, 09:15 PM