PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Which one?

racingronnie
February 19th, 2010, 02:35 AM
I have been running Ubuntu for several years now and love it. I just bought a new computer:

Acer Aspire REVO R3610-U9022
Ultra-slim desktop
- 1 x Atom 330 / 1.6 GHz
- RAM 2 GB
- HDD 1 x 160 GB
- NVIDIA ION
- Gigabit Ethernet
- WLAN : 802.11b/g/n (draft)
- Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

I am going to remove Windows7 and put Ubuntu on it. I thought I wanted to run a 64bit version of 9.10. Has anyone tried this with any luck? Or, which Ubuntu OS would probably run the best on this hardware?

Thank you,
RacingRonnie

iamwhatiseem
February 19th, 2010, 02:43 AM
I have been running Ubuntu for several years now and love it. I just bought a new computer:

Acer Aspire REVO R3610-U9022
Ultra-slim desktop
- 1 x Atom 330 / 1.6 GHz
- RAM 2 GB
- HDD 1 x 160 GB
- NVIDIA ION
- Gigabit Ethernet
- WLAN : 802.11b/g/n (draft)
- Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

I am going to remove Windows7 and put Ubuntu on it. I thought I wanted to run a 64bit version of 9.10. Has anyone tried this with any luck? Or, which Ubuntu OS would probably run the best on this hardware?

Thank you,
RacingRonnie

umm...why buy one with Windows installed...just to replace it?
Seriously....you can buy a decent system pre-installed with ubuntu for $399...or buy a "O's- less" system for $250 or so.
You paid the gates tax.

racingronnie
February 19th, 2010, 03:32 AM
Because this one only cost me $328 and I couldn't find a comparable product pre-installed with Ubuntu. If they are going to give me their trashy OS so cheap... I can afford to throw it away!

I guess what I am really asking is: Is it a good idea to install this with 64bit Ubuntu or will 32bit work better in the long run? My first thought is that 64bit Ubuntu would probably utilize the computer better, but I know that tried and true practices tell a better story. I just want the opinion of someone who has already been down this path.