PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I made a big mistake, now not network! Should I Re install Ubuntu or what???

donfisico
February 18th, 2010, 07:59 PM
Hello guys,

I am a newbie to Ubuntu and Linux in general and today i have messed things up big time.
Remember my post about installing Thunderbird (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1410041)(today`s one), well... I wanted to install Thunderbird 3.0 because I wanted to install an addon to minimize it on the tray (only avaible for thunderbird 3.0). Because I was so obsses with that idea I thought in installing instead mail-notify . Because I have problem with dependencies Ihad to build then I thought in removing the expat package. Well, huge mistake, I did type "apt-get autoremove expat". That make uninstall a lot of packages. Terrified at the point of freezing face, I patiently install all the packages that seemed to be uninstalled. Then I reboot, ubuntu worked but the network and the Gstreamer (and the the volume control) doesn`t . I do not what to do, I have no network (I am writing this from another computer)
I thought in re-instaling (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=125339) ubuntu but I am a little afraid after this and I do not want any of the instaled apps to be removed and didn`t want to touch the home directory. What shall I do????

darkod
February 18th, 2010, 08:11 PM
As far as I know, apt-get autoremove just removes packages downloaded which are no more needed. It doesn't uninstall anything.
So maybe forcing installs messed it up actually.
If network manager is messed up, you could actually download the .deb file, transfer it on a usb stick and install on the broken computer. But first try a reboot just to see if something will change.
And this might not be related directly to networkmanager.

donfisico
February 18th, 2010, 11:14 PM