PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Do I need to unmount and remount a partition?

jimwsea
February 18th, 2010, 05:16 AM
I recently installed a dual-boot Ubuntu/XP setup. The last partition created on the hard disk, for files to be shared by both systems, is called "shared files". It does not show up under "Places". I used the disk utility and discovered that the two other ntfs partitions that do show up under "Places" are mounted at "/media/win". However, the "shared files" partition is shown to be mounted at "/windows".

When I first set the partitions, I believe I did not mount the other two partitions, and chose "/windows" for the "shared files" partition. [seemed logical but what do I know -- I'm new at this]

How do I get the "shared files" partition to show up under "Places"?
Do I need to unmount from "/windows"?
...if so, do I leave it unmounted, or remount under something else?
Will this require backing up the data?
What is the method?

mikewhatever
February 18th, 2010, 05:52 AM
You probably just need to remount it under /media/, /media/windows or /media/storage being the mount point. If these mount points were created during the installation, you'll need to edit /etc/fstab, changing the mount points to your liking.

jimwsea
February 18th, 2010, 07:59 AM
I used terminal to type
sudo passwd root
entered a password
su root
entered password -- got to root@......
gedit /etc/fstab

I got into fstab and changed the mount point to "media/storage. Saved and rebooted. The partition shows up in "Places", but I get the following message..

Unable to mount Shared Files
Error mounting: mount exited with edit code 1:helper
failed with:
mount: only root can mount /dev/sda10 on media/storage

Don't know what that means or what to do next.

Also, I type "exit" in the terminal before closing, otherwise my hard disk light will go on for over 10 minutes and if I try to close I will get a message box telling me there is a process running. What process would take that long?