PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] My first computer.

bullet311
February 18th, 2010, 12:25 AM
I want to start making my very own pc soon and was wondering what aspects I need to focus on. Basically what are the most important things to look into before purchasing a bunch of parts and throwing them together. I know I want something that will be customizable and is fast enough to play an average game today.

I am a newbie so any help would be appreciated, and sorry if there are many more threads like these but these forums are like an ocean and I can't hold my breath for long.

Thanks!

DeadlyOats
February 18th, 2010, 01:29 AM
If you're building a "gamer", you have three choices: All Out video graphic quality AND performance, or just enough to get by with good performance, but 'just O.K.' video graphics quality, or anything in between. That will be determined by your budget.

That's what I think anyway.

But on to the nuts and bolts.

1) Do Not use a motherboard that has built in video graphics chips. The CPU has to pull double and even triple duty, calculating all kinds of stuff, and then has to find the time to also process excruciating mathematical calculations to process all of the video graphics that games are heavy on. Getting a motherboard that has a video graphics card slot means that the video graphics card will do ALL of the video graphics calculation work, so that your CPU won't have to. That by itself will ensure very good performance.