PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How to install Avira...anyone?

Iokua86
February 18th, 2010, 12:05 AM
I just downloaded the avira package for ubuntu 9.10 but, I haven't the slightest clue of how to install the program. What do I need to type in the terminal to install avira? Do I need anything else? What's this dazuko things I keep coming across?

wilee-nilee
February 18th, 2010, 01:06 AM
What type of download is it a deb or tar. Also Klamav is a good scanner that can also scan MS partitions. Actually you don't need either really, in that they are looking for MS stuff which shouldn't affect a Linux setup theoretically.

Iokua86
February 18th, 2010, 01:24 AM
Well i'm new to linux and although it's been spectacular so far, I don't want to take my chances. ecspecially since i plan on using Transmission. I don't know which type of file it is. I suppose i'll look for the one that's easiest to install (Spoken like a windows use, I know).

Iokua86
February 18th, 2010, 01:41 AM
oh, just kidding. It's a tar.

wilee-nilee
February 18th, 2010, 02:01 AM
Some Tar's can be double clicked then extracted and a installer is in the folder, I am not sure of this in Avira though.

Iokua86
February 18th, 2010, 02:14 AM
Yes, there is an install document. However, it's pretty long, don't know how to read it. and the README file isn't much help either.

pirateghost
February 18th, 2010, 02:52 AM
i have to ask, why do you think you need an antivirus?

Iokua86
February 18th, 2010, 03:17 AM
just for added protection. I want to use Transmission

pirateghost
February 18th, 2010, 03:21 AM
just for added protection. I want to use Transmission
and what does transmission have to do with it?

do you plan on sharing with windows computers?

what exactly do you think you are protecting a linux computer from?

2hot6ft2
February 18th, 2010, 03:37 AM
Are you aware that ubuntu already has an antivirus installed by default?

Check
Applications > System Tools > Virus Scanner