PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [Mint] Grub no disk blah blah.

falkflyer
February 17th, 2010, 11:37 PM
Hello all,
I recently decided to take an unused 4GB flash drive and dump Linux Mint on it, since I've never used Linux before and this one comes recomended.
Anyway, I have no experience with Linux as mentioned, so I guess the odds are that the installation would go well, but then my Vista (I know, I know, but I have yet to get a copy of 7) would break. I'm not too worried, as I see this is a common issue.
During the installation, I was told that some partitions could not be used because they were mounted, and if I wanted to repartition them I would have to unmount them, is that the issue? I'm guessing that it unmounted my Vista partition and recovery partition during the installation, but then again, what do I know?
Anyway, help would be very appreciated. I got my LiveCD to boot up, so I guess I can use that for the time being.

darkod
February 17th, 2010, 11:56 PM
I don't know the install process of Mint but I didn't understand anything. :)
Do you expect the Mint install to break your vista? Why?
Also, the message about mounted partitions doesn't make any sense, especially if you are wiping the whole usb stick during install so you can use it as destination. Is that what you want?

oneindelijk
February 17th, 2010, 11:59 PM
Mint should give you install options (like erasing windows Vista or Dual booting), but from a USB stick that shouldn't be an issue at all.
Can you tell us more precisely where you're stuck ?

falkflyer
February 18th, 2010, 12:15 AM
Alright, here's how it happened.