PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable to install on SCSI RAID?

Muskiet
February 16th, 2010, 09:26 AM
First off I'd like to say I'm very new to Ubuntu, so I'm still trying to learn.
I have a K8 motherboard with an adaptec U320 SCSI card with RAID ability.
To that card I connected two 15k RPM 35 GB Maxtor SCSI drives.
For some reason I'm not able to install Ubuntu 9.10 onto these drives with both drives in RAID 0.
With both drives separately configured Ubuntu doesn't even see them.
I have by the way run Windows XP and 2000 succesfully on these drives in Raid 0 configuration.

I set up the array in the card's bios as bootable with write cache enabled.
The system's bios sees the array as the array to boot from.
Ubuntu (both standard and alternate) sees the array and I have tried to install Ubuntu on it by manually partitioning it or having me guide it with or without LVM.
I tend to delete and rebuild the array between attempts so I have a clean slate to start from every time I try.
I have no other drives (except the CD of course) installed on this computer.

The whole installation goes very well untill the end where I get a message that it could not install the boot loader (grub?).
Every single time I've tried to install Ubuntu in all sorts of ways onto my RAID 0 array I have run into problems installing that boot loader, and I've tried that card and those disks in another computer as well.

Tomorrow I'd like to try to manually set up the partitions with a small /boot partition on a standard hard drive with / on the array, but if somebody please has any idea's on how I might get it working without having to rely on another hard disk (which might not even work of course) I would surely appreciate you sharing this with me.

byStanderone
February 16th, 2010, 11:13 AM
...about raid: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation/SoftwareRAID

darkod
February 16th, 2010, 11:34 AM