PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ubuntu thinks I am not the system administrator

fleppmar
February 15th, 2010, 08:09 PM
Hi!

I converted from Windows to Linux yesterday. So, I am completely new at this! :-)

Have been searching through the forums for about an hour now, but cant see anyone else having the same problem. Anyhow!

I have been tweaking Ubuntu 9.10 through the Compiz-program, have made myself a nice looking Cube ect, but. Now, my desktop icons have disapeared. They are still in the /home/desktop folder, but I can not see them on any of my 4 home screens.

I found a possible solution using sudo to reinstall nautilus, but get this message:

Nautilus-Share-Message: Called "net usershare info" but it failed: 'net usershare' returned error 255: net usershare: cannot open usershare directory /var/lib/samba/usershares. Error No such file or directory
Please ask your system administrator to enable user sharing.

So, basicly, I have two problems. My desktop icons and right click options are gone, and apparently I am not the administrator, eventhough im the only user of my computer.

Any suggestions would be lovely! :)

regards.
fleppmar

Satoru-san
February 15th, 2010, 08:38 PM
Welcome to the forums :)

What command were you using to reinstall nautilus?

you should have used this one:

sudo apt-get purge nautilus
sudo apt-get install nautilus

DONT BLINDLY RUN COMMANDS THAT PEOPLE ON THE FORUMS TELL YOU
some times people will post malicious command that will destroy your install
If you have any questions about what the commands do, ask someone!

fleppmar
February 15th, 2010, 11:15 PM
Hi. Thanks for the reply. :-)

I did as you said, and after I login now. It only goes into terminal.
I cant find any commands to enter my desktop. Lol!

Please help! :-)

i used the install naurtilus directly the first time.

Satoru-san
February 15th, 2010, 11:56 PM
Hi. Thanks for the reply. :-)

I did as you said, and after I login now. It only goes into terminal.