PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help me find a wifi adapter that Just Works with ubuntu 9.1

garetmg
February 14th, 2010, 06:56 PM
Greetings Ubuntu Experts! I revere your wisdom and could use some help. In short, I want to buy a new wifi adapter (PC Card or USB) that JUST WORKS with Ubuntu 9.1, or that comes with software that I can install that JUST WORKS with Ubuntu 9.1. Here's my story:

I am a total Ubuntu beginner. I have an old Dell Inspiron 600M (Dell service tag 56HC831). Though this computer is in its twilight, I think it would make a fine internet and OpenOffice device. I decided to go with Xubuntu 9.1 because I read that this distribution demands fewer system resources, and figured this would be easier for this old computer to handle.

Well, the Xubuntu install went fine and the OS itself runs well, but I am completely fed up with making the 600M's pre-installed wifi adapter work. I've worked for weeks trying to make it work, reading forums, installing B43 something-or-other drivers, etc. The best results I've achieved result in a creeping internet speed slower that dial-up ever was.

~~~WHAT I NEED FROM THE COMMUNITY:~~~

Can someone give the name of a device (or provide a link to a device on amazon or newegg) I can buy that just works with my 600M + Xubuntu computer, and makes it work with wifi as well as my Windows & Mac computers work on wifi? Specifically I'm looking for a wifi adapter that is plug and play. I think a PCI card adapter would be more convenient for every day use, but if there is a USB adapter that works I am fine with that too. In case it matters, I have pretty standard wifi network at home... router running "g" and I think WPA-personal encryption. The point is that it works perfectly with Mac and PC, and my expectation is that it should JUST WORK with Ubuntu as well.

THANK YOU FOR PARSING YOUR WISDOM AND SHARING YOUR GUIDANCE!!!

Signed,
Garet - Almost Fed-up Newbie

spiky001
February 14th, 2010, 07:15 PM
see if this helps