PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Partitioning Basic set up? Ext4?

bambii7
February 12th, 2010, 01:55 AM
Hi all, I'm extremely new to this whole Linux thing. I've spent a few days downloading various versions, and making multiple CD's. Today the CD drive decided it was dirty and wouldn't read my first successful CD LOL, tried the manual approach, failed. Tried Unetboot which worked like a charm.
After that brief personal history it brings me to permanently installing Ubuntu over Vista. But am again hellishly stuck, the partitions this time. I tried the basic set up from the wiki
Name
Size
swap
size of RAM
/
at least 3GB, at most 15 GB
/boot
at least 100 MB, at most 250 MB
/home
the rest of the disk

Which translated to

swap 1000mb
/ 10000mb ext4
/boot 250mb ext4
/home 108800mb ext4

But while installing (formatting) I get
"the ext4 file system creation in partition #5 of SCSI1 (0,0,0) (sda) failed."
Along with some other messages prior to that, about device being busy and rebooting.

I'm really new, have never touched Linux before, or partitioned anything. Is ext4 the correct format to use on SCSI? I tried fat32 but it only gave me Windows options....

Sef
February 12th, 2010, 03:02 AM
swap
size of RAM
/
at least 3GB, at most 15 GB
/boot
at least 100 MB, at most 250 MB
/home
the rest of the disk

Which translated to

swap 1000mb
/ 10000mb ext4
/boot 250mb ext4
/home 108800mb ext4

The root parition should be 8 -10 GB.

Swap should be the size of RAM, if you are going to use hibernation or suspend. Otherwise, 1 gb is enough.

A boot partition is not needed. Is there some reason you need a separate partition?

The rest for the home partition.

But while installing (formatting) I get
"the ext4 file system creation in partition #5 of SCSI1 (0,0,0) (sda) failed."
Along with some other messages prior to that, about device being busy and rebooting.