PDA

View Full Version : Trolling for application opinion

irish rebel
March 6th, 2006, 02:25 PM
Guys I have been using linux as my desktop since 1998 and specifically my entire household including wife , 4 kids have been using linux for the past 4 years entirely .My kids play games for a while freecraft provided son#1 with his strategy needs but he has moved onto world of warcraft and has acheived some elvish level previously unheard of , I had used wine for a while but a few crashes in the middle of some great battle in which the entire orc nation had attacked him, left me with no choice but to get cedega and the fact that it is available is great . Son#2 plays quake 4 and unreal tournement 2004 and as they have a native version that is great. they both use streamtuner for online radio ect ect.
Girl #1 is almost 5 and plays with gcompris all the time it is a great free program.
My wife uses it for email and shopping so her needs are fine.Myself Ok well I am a linux consultant I work mostly with public school districts in new york and new jersey a server here or there up to last summer, then I started getting actual desktops to do, and surprisingly it wasnt in office desktops it was classroom desktops.1 lab had a computer training lab we put Suse 9.3 on it [ubuntu had hardware issues with dell] I also ended up installing Crossover on them all at $39 per licence it allows them to use some cisco software that they needed.
On my home pc I run ubuntu breezy great os ....I use crossover fopr dvd shrink and itunes as well as photoshop I think it well worth it I also use moneydance at $29.00 a good finance program. I did buy nero but instead I use k3b as I think it better in many ways.
My troll I guess is this what are your feeling on say linspires possable offer to provide a fee based click and run client for ubuntu? also their apparent offer to provide legit multimedia codecs for ubuntu[ i personally feel this is great]