PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help with installation

Scrub
February 11th, 2010, 02:40 AM
I'm fairly new to the linux game, so please excuse my ignorance of linux workings.

I've recently revived and old computer, and have downloaded and burned the ISO to a CD. When I select the option of "Install Linux", some files load and text appears, etc.

After a bit (~5sec) the screen displays a pulsing ubuntu logo. Nothing else past that appears, so I have to press CRT-ALT-DEL to restart or shutdown the computer. Any help?

Bright_View
February 11th, 2010, 03:23 AM
Could be many things. What are the specs of this old computer that you have revived? Are you sure all hardware is good? Did you check the disk to make sure it burned with no errors? etc.

Kir_B
February 11th, 2010, 03:30 AM
Ditto on the disc check.

I had a similiar problem, but it was with the x86_64 cd version and so I had to fall back to the i386 version.

Also, can you boot the cd into demo mode?

ubudog
February 11th, 2010, 03:31 AM
It does take a while to load.

Kir_B
February 11th, 2010, 03:34 AM
Yeah it does. try to install from the icon on the desktop.

ubudog
February 11th, 2010, 03:36 AM
How long did you wait before restarting the computer?

Kir_B
February 11th, 2010, 03:40 AM
Sorry. Is this question directed to me? If so, please elaborate.

lidex
February 11th, 2010, 04:01 AM
I'm fairly new to the linux game, so please excuse my ignorance of linux workings.

I've recently revived and old computer, and have downloaded and burned the ISO to a CD. When I select the option of "Install Linux", some files load and text appears, etc.

After a bit (~5sec) the screen displays a pulsing ubuntu logo. Nothing else past that appears, so I have to press CRT-ALT-DEL to restart or shutdown the computer. Any help?