PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] HPLIP 3.9.12 Installation

bwsmith25
February 11th, 2010, 02:32 AM
Can someone PLEASE help me? I have been trying for the last week to install drivers for my HP F2480 printer. I cannot get anything to install and cannot seem to find anyone to help me.

I am new to Ubuntu (used Windows all my life until I finally got tired of it) so I don't know that much about it - but I do know what my version (Karmic) comes with HPLIP 3.9.8 and my printer must have at least HPLIP 3.9.10 to work.

How do I install the updated HPLIP? And please don't send me to http://hplipopensource.com/hplip-web/install/install/index.html, because I've tried doing the install repeatedly and it keeps telling me I have missing dependencies and I don't know where to get them or how to install them.

Someone, please help me - I am at a breaking point here - I have to have a printer and I don't want to buy another one. (I bought the HP because my Dell printer doesn't work with Linux and I've read that HP's are good with Linux - but I guess I bought the wrong one.)

skogs
February 11th, 2010, 03:21 AM
Hold on there buddy. I'm about to install it myself. I'll let you know what I come up with.

skogs
February 11th, 2010, 03:47 AM
I don't know what to say to help you man. I did in fact click on that link you posted, and downloaded direct from HP's sourceforge page.

It downloaded and installed just fine with the 'a' for automatic settings. I happened to pull down a crap ton of developer dependencies, which I could have probably done without. They were either working on the bleeding edge, or just didn't know how to build their application with non-dev tools. Overall pretty slick though.

The only option that you might be having trouble with is the repositories. All those non-standard install things come off the repos, and if you don't have them enabled, then they won't work when aptitude tries to install them.