PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] error updating, right after installation

rlfny1
February 11th, 2010, 01:39 AM
I am brand new to Linux. Successfully installed Ubuntu 8.04 with dual-boot: Linux or Windows XP. After installing, I was prompted to install over 400 updates. After installing about half of them, I got the error message: "failed to check for installed and available updates. This is a major factor of your software management system. Please check for broken packages with synaptic. Reload the software information with 'sudo apt-get update' and 'sudo apt-get install -f' Also, if I try to run update manager, after starting the attempt to download/install the remaining 278 updates, the process stops and I get the message: An error occurred. E:dpkg was interrupted. You must manually run 'dpkg--configure -a' to correct the problem. E:_cache>open() failed, please report. I also get the same error message trying to use Synaptic Package Manager. I tried to run the requested commands, using a window I opened via the alt + F2 key combination, but to no avail. Please help. I wish I knew more about Linux; I am a beginner who knows a good bit about Windows, but not Linux, yet.

northrup
February 11th, 2010, 02:02 AM
Try running the first two in a terminal (Applications > Accessories > Terminal), then type in the first commands you were prompted to run ("sudo apt-get update" followed by "sudo apt-get install -f"). Copy down the information both commands spit out and post it here.

If that doesn't work, try rebooting and selecting "recovery mode" at the GRUB menu. I don't remember whether or not 8.04 has a recovery menu with an ability to repair the APT repository. But, if not, you can try running those commands again, along with "sudo dpkg --configure -a". It's worth a try.

Otherwise, the only really "easy" solution is to re-install Ubuntu.

pastalavista
February 11th, 2010, 02:08 AM